PDA

View Full Version : Pros & Cons of Servicing/Owning the LB7, and a little history.

More Power
10-03-2022, 14:31
https://www.thedieselpage.com/images/engine-bay01c.jpg

The above image is of the LB7 first-gen Duramax 6600 in my 2001 2500HD GMC SLE crew-cab. I bought this truck brand new in December of 2000 from our local GMC dealer with just 17 miles on the odometer. Negotiated out-the-door price at the time was $39k. This was the first and only Duramax on their lot. As of late December 2023, the truck has accumulated 155K miles. I have some experience with the first-gen Duramax.

Pros & Cons of Servicing/Owning the LB7... Let's begin with what I've heard about the:

Cons...

1- Changing injectors can be a bit more complicated on the 2001-2004.5 LB7 when compared to the 2004.5 LLY and newer engines.

2- The stainless-steel injector cups have always been considered a negative to owning or buying the first gen LB7 Duramax 6600 because they may add another potential for complication.

Pros...

1- I saw a Youtube video last year that profiled a pretty nice LB7 Duramax/Allison powered 2004 Chevy 2500HD. The video producer paid $800 for that truck because it needed head gaskets and injectors. In short, the first gen Duramax powered trucks are cheap. That truck might have been worth $10,000 in perfect condition, but they are so-so cheap when there's a problem with the engine. It's a great time to score a great deal on one of these trucks. The things to watch out for are rusty trucks coming from the rust belt of the US.

2- The injectors made for the LB7 are less expensive than those used in newer engines, and prices continue to come down.

Conclusion: Should anyone consider purchasing an LB7 (2001-2004) Duramax 6600?