PDA

View Full Version : No overdrive after injection pump swap

Tatlocktim
06-07-2023, 16:17
Hey everybody:) I got a garage to switch the injection pump in my 93 Sierra because it wasn’t starting after the engine was warmed up… they were able to swap the injection pump, but it will not shift into overdrive now. The Tcs has been adjusted and swapped out. I’m new to the code reading on these trucks… but I think it’s telling me 12, 21 and 85. The garage that returned it to me figures there must be a faulty wire somewhere. I’m gonna check all the grounds for now . My next step will be to take it to gmc dealership:/ anyone ran into this issue?

Robyn
06-08-2023, 04:23
Hello
Welcome to The Diesel Page

The Codes
12 means that the computer is able to do a self test.....
21 is throttle position voltage is reading too high (Greater than 4.9 volts)
85 is an "Unexpected gear ratio"

If the rig was driving fine before the shop worked on it......MY FIRST SUSPICION .would be either the THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR is incorrectly adjusted or faulty.....

Here is the procedure to set the TPS

Turn the key on, don't start the engine.
With a voltmeter, check the voltage across the dark blue and black
wires of the TPS.
It should be .5 to .75 volt at idle and 4.2 to 4.5 volts at full throttle.
If the readings are off loosen the screws and adjust the TPS until you get
it in range.
If it will not set in those ranges you may need a new one.

Adjusting is easy....Loosen both screws on the TPS just so you can rotate the TPS in the screw slots....Get a reading with the throttle closed..(Make sure the fast idle solenoid is disconnected before adjusting......If the solenoid is opening the throttle it can mess up the reading)
Check the full throttle reading....With the pedal on the floor....4.3 VOLTS is a good reading.
Then recheck the idle reading.... .5 volts is perfect.....If you can't get both ends of the adjustment to come in....BAD TPS