PDA

View Full Version : Drain Plug and Differential

Barra
02-19-2004, 17:06
I have a couple questions I was hoping for some advice on. THe first is the oil drain plug...I have a 1995 6.5 TD k2500 Suburban. Does anyone know what the specs are on the oil drain plug? I went to replace it the other day (nylon washer fell apart) and the parts store had about 3 choices.

Next question (yes I'm new to the self-maintenance thing) is how do I tell what differential / axle set I have on the truck? I'd like to put auto-lockers in, but I haven't a clue which model differential is on the truck.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Cheers!
Barra

sturgeon-phish
02-19-2004, 17:27
In the glovebox is a sticker with a bunch if letter number codes. You can tell your diff ratio using them. A whole list of what the codes are are on link here on DP and do yourself a favor and print them out. I'd guess yours is a GT4 - 3.73, or GT5 - 4.10.

Barra
02-20-2004, 04:19
So that would translate to a Dana 41 or Dana 50 or....? Sorry, I'm still a bit lost here, though I do recall seeing the sticker in the glove box (truck's parked in the commuter lot, actually looking it up will have to wait for this evening).

Thanks much!

diesel1995
02-20-2004, 05:34
Being a k2500 suburban you're pretty much limited to 2 choices for axle. You could have either a full or semi-floater 14 bolt axle, its very easy to tell the difference a few ways:

1. Count the differential cover bolts in the rear, it should be 14, then look and see if the axle has a bolt on pinion, if it does this would make it a full floater.

2. Remove hubcaps (where neccassary) and look at the end of the axle, if it has a flange with 8 bolts, instead of a "dead hub" like a car would have, its also a full floater, if not, it is a semi floater.

I beleive the front axle in all 3/4 ton diesel trucks was the larger of the two ifs axles (9.2" Ring Gear?) -- this im not sure about, but the rear axle, i know for sure.