PDA

View Full Version : Boost and Control

GMC Hauler
11-19-2003, 00:46
I am still learning and reading all the posts about my new 6.5. What i have a question about is boost and how you control it. I have picked up that stock boost runs 4-6#. I also understand that when you install a intercooler, that boost levels fall about 2-3 lbs. When you send off the computer for a reprogram, does that adjust the boost levels? Do you need to have the computer reprogrammed again if you add an intercooler later? How do you compensate for this lost boost level due to the intercooler? I see that a lot of guys are running boost in the 12lb tange. Are you doing this with the turbo master boost controller, or is the computer capable of controlling it at this level? What is the most boost you would apply to this motor with the stock pistons in it (i read about the 18:1 pistons being used that allow for more boost)? I have noticed that my vacuum from my vacuum pump is at 15", and i see from the service manual that it is at the min spec. I understand that installing the turbo master boost controller is all mechanical and more reliable. What are the pros and cons to going this route (efficency, reliability, performace)? is it just easier and cheaper to replace the vacuum pump? Thanks in advance. P.S. this is a 96 Burb.

rjschoolcraft
11-19-2003, 04:37