PDA

View Full Version : EAGLE ALLOY WHEELS ON DUALLY?

moedog
08-22-2003, 17:44
JUST PURCHASED A SET OF EAGLE ALLOY WHEELS FOR MY 1TON DUALLY. CAN ANYONE TELL ME TIPS AND CARE HINTS. GOT THEM OFF EBAY, NEW, FOR 525 WITH CAPS AND LUGS FROM DISCOUNT TIRE IN OKLAHOMA.
THANKS FOR THE HELP!

Dvldog 8793
08-22-2003, 20:03
Howdy
Sounds like you got a bargain!!! The main thing you need to remember is " corosion of dissimilar metals" As a welder I run into ALLOT! The steel mating surfaces will corrode the alluminum. I made some thin(1/32) nylon spacers to go between my wheels and the steel. Also cover ALL mating surfaces w/ a thin coat of never-seez. It makes a mess but saves you a big pain and the mess cleans up. Remember to use a torque wrench about every 1000miles and around 100-200miles after you get them mounted. I don't trust the "torque stick" extensions that much. I'm sure they work but I don't think people are using them properly with calibrated equipment. Make sure that when you get them mounted they use the proper wheel weights and mounting tools so they don't peel off the clear coat or oxidize the AL.
Hope this helps :D
Conley
USMC 87-93

moedog
08-23-2003, 21:58
HEY DEVLDOG, WHAT WOULD THE COORECT WHEEL WEIGHTS BE??? MADE OF AND DO I PAINNNT THE NEVERSSEZ ON B4 GOING TO THE TIRE STORE??? DO AUTO PARTS DEALERS SELL IT? I HAVE ANTI-SEIZE ( GRAY LOOKING STUFF ) WILL THAT WORK. HOW DO YOU LIKE YOUR GEARVENDORS UNIT? DO INEED IT WITH 410 GEARS
FINALLY, THANKS MUCH FOR THE HELP!!!!
DAN

Dvldog 8793
08-24-2003, 11:38
Howdy