PDA

View Full Version : Loud Exhaust

Beedee
02-28-2004, 16:40
Just an inquiry to some of you who have changed your exhaust systems.
How loud does the exhaust get and how much of a drone do you get in the cab when your making time down the freeway.
I'm starting to put together a plan for the mods on my truck, but I have got to that age when I really don't care for big exhaust noise anymore.
I did a search and couldn't really find much information other then the obvious benefits.
Thanks for any input or information.

markelectric
02-28-2004, 17:33
I did a new exhaust a while back. 3" down to 4 all the way out thru a nothing special muffler. I have a good bit more noise than I want. If I had to do it all again I would get one of those "quiet" mufflers that Bill Heath sells. I have no experience with them but a lot of people on this forum seem to like them.

patrick m.
02-28-2004, 20:21
use 3 inch exhaust, get a "straight-thru" type muffler, and you wont hear it.
all you will hear is the turbo.

I had a sys like that before i got JK's 3.5 to 4inch sys, and it is louder.

Obo
02-28-2004, 23:22
is 3 all the way out with nothing in it gonna give me a decent preformance gain?

Barry Nave
02-29-2004, 02:45
I run stright all the way. My way of how I want it. In cab is ok,out is a low rubble. I have no gain in power because I went to the stright through, If you get as said,JK system is a very good one. Still a stright through system :D

patrick m.
02-29-2004, 06:39
Originally posted by Obo:
is 3 all the way out with nothing in it gonna give me a decent preformance gain? better than stock, of course you should forget to re-install the cat :D unless you have diesel emission testing in your area, then you will need to "clean" the cat ;)

C.K. Piquup
02-29-2004, 07:39