PDA

View Full Version : Racor Engine Mounted Filter

Lone Eagle
04-14-2003, 16:22
I have been following the post OEM filter change out with great interest. I couldn't decide weather the air that some were getting was entraped when installing the filter or being pulled in through a leak. I decided to try mounting mine high on the engine to see if that would work. If vibration doesn't cause any problems I think I have a good installation. It took 73 strokes on the OEM primer to get rid of the air. The engine started right up and idled normally. I have posted some photos for those interested. I am new at the photo posting. I am sure some one will let me know if this doesn't work. Later! Lone Eagle

http://photos.yahoo.com/bc/rm11234/lst?.dir=/Pictures&.view=t

[ 04-14-2003: Message edited by: Lone Eagle ]</p>

Raptorrider2001
04-14-2003, 16:45
Lone Eagle. I would like to see some pictures showing how you connected it to the original one.

Budz
04-14-2003, 18:30
Lone Eagle, looks like a good install. I particularly like the positioning. Very innovative. Also having the filter mounted high should be great for bleeding off the air with the pet cock. I would think that the fuel tank pressurization method might be very easy with your mounting location. Did you use a 2 micron filter?

Budz

Lone Eagle
04-14-2003, 18:41
Raptor, Running the line from the OEM filter to the new one was the biggest challenge. I used exactly 3' of hose for each run with hose clamps on both ends. This is a 2 micron. I was only going to put air in the tank as a last resort. 3.5 PSI will blow up a 55 gal. steel drumb. I will get a couple more photos of the fuel line routing. Later! Lone Eagle ;)

txguppy
04-14-2003, 20:32
Hey Lone Eagle, ditto on Raptors request for tap-in pix/info. Also, where did you get the filter and housing? Finally, did the petcock come w/ the filter housing?

Thanx,

txguppy

Lone Eagle
04-14-2003, 20:44