PDA

View Full Version : Rear Main

RustyK5
08-03-2003, 07:58
I'm a newbie oilburner and my Blazer is leaking some oil! I have read all that i can on replacing the rear main seal but I would like to hear from someone who has done this. Also which is better the rope seal or the newer neoprene gasket? Thanks.

catmandoo
08-03-2003, 08:41
they aren't too bad too change just a matter of getting the pan off which shouldn't be too bad in the blazer as for seal the neoprene is the only way to go the ropes are hell to put in if you don't have the special rope puller to pull it thru .my 82 sub with banks had a rear main leak and it really wasn't that bad considering i've seen lots worse anyway decided to change it one day and pulled the rear main cap off and there wasn't one in there top or bottom it must have had a rope and ate it ?fixed it and now the front started to leak.

Eric Deslauriers
08-03-2003, 09:43
Check to be sure your your anti-depression valve is functioning (that funky round metal canister with the one or two lines to the intake manifold). They're supposed to help generate a minor vaccuum in the oil pan, which helps keep the seals from leaking oil out.

As far as rear seal, I believe the new ones are Viton, no neoprene. Viton is the way to go.

rumbler1
08-03-2003, 13:31
Whether they're Viton or neoprene, the rear mains are not terribly bad to replace. Don't bother buying a cork gasket for the pan because it won't fit, just seal the pan with some good silicone when you're done.

RustyK5
08-07-2003, 17:46
Thanks for the info! I plan on diving in this weekend!

HowieE
08-08-2003, 09:10