PDA

View Full Version : putting in new lower rod bearings, any tricks?

libtec
10-22-2004, 18:15
I'm going to put in new lower rod bearings tomorrow on my 90 6.2. Are there any tricks or things I should be looking for since I have the motor open? I'm not a mechanical newby, but this is my first time tackling a bearing replacement with the motor still in the truck. Thanks in advance.

DmaxMaverick
10-23-2004, 00:13
Why are you replacing only the bearings?

If you have a reason to replace the bearings, you should be looking at the whole engine. The main/rod bearings are not a weak component of the engine. If the bearings have failed, you have problems elsewhere, both before the failure and after. If the problem is low oil pressure, a more likely candicate is the lifters, or other parts. Try a Plastigage on your old bearings first. You may be surprised.

farmerherb
10-23-2004, 05:41
I've seen low oil pressure in a 6.2 from worn cam bearings. I've also seen "rebuilt" motors with low oil pressure, because it was too much trouble replacing cam bearings or they think the bearings do't wear as fast.

catmandoo
10-23-2004, 07:48
yeah kinda makes me wonder too why your changing rod brg's,as suggested i'd pull a couple of caps and plastigage em and see whats in there for clearance.also you can push the rod up and use a mic in there to get all the way around the journal to see what you have for out of round.i'd also drop a main or 2 and see what you have there.

TimK
10-25-2004, 06:17
Libtec,