PDA

View Full Version : New 6.2 owner, various questions

MLind
05-02-2004, 17:44
Hello, just purchased a new to me 1989 1 ton 4x4 with utility box. Rather tired truck here and there, but that is how I buy them. Then I work on them. It should work well for hauling my tools and muddy boots to geothermal drilling sites.

Questions that have come up in the first week of examining the new truck and as I put in a new radiator, replace the oil cooler and leaking lines, etc.

1. Metric or standard? Where and why did GM use metric vs SAE bolts and nuts? Seems to be random, but perhpas there is some small logic to when and where. Also, the bolts on the oil pan seem to be 9.5mm or 13/32 (or worse). Do I have to add to all my x/16 inch size sockets to work on things?

2. Turbos. The VW diesels I am familiar with (I am new to the GM diesels) the heads, pistons, and valves are "upgraded" for the turbo engines. What are the pertinant issues if I decide to add the Banks turbo system? Why doesn't intercooling seem to be important as people upgrade these engines? Can the piston squirters easily be added? All reports I have read about the banks upgrade seem to be very positive, but I am used to having the turbo components being more robust than the NA components.

3. Passenger side CV axle is new, I am replacing the driver side. However, on the driver side of the fixed axle assembly, there is 1/4 inch or so of play where the axle mounts to the CV assmebly (where the 6 bolts are. Not sure what to call all these pieces). No leakage. Is this side to side play going to be a problem? Should it be addressed soon or can it be ignored until it gets worse? This is my first 4x4.

4. From staring at the engine compartment most of the afternoon, it appears that the PS pump is also the vacuum generator for the brakes. Interesting. Besides diesels not producing vacuum naturally, is there any other reason to do this?

Any thoughts, partial replies, opinions welcome.

Thanks
Myron

DmaxMaverick