PDA

View Full Version : DieselBoy: How's the TE06H Working Out for You?

britannic
09-12-2003, 09:50
DieselBoy: just wanted to know how that MHI TE06H turbo is working out for you?

Dieselboy
09-12-2003, 11:27
It's a whole new truck. I'm at that point right now where I'm learning to drive the engine again.

My dad got the suburban new in 85, and it is the first car I ever drove at age 9. It's all I've ever driven since I got my license, so I've been driving a naturally aspirated diesel daily for about seven years now, so this whole thing about not black smoking every time I pass someone is new to me. I'm sure I'll adjust quickly though.

Turbo lag is virtually non-existent. Generally, I keep it under 2000 rpm while in town, but when I have to pass somebody (or just want to tickle the boost gauge) I can get some great power in a hurry.

I can cruise 60mph at 1700 rpm in locked up 4th, and see 500F to 600F along with 2.5 psi. I have 4.10s right now, and when you put that together with my 35" BFGs, I need lower gearing. I 've been able to drive my father's 96 6.5TD a lot, and his drivetrain combination is good for 65 mph at 2000 rpm. That works out real well, so I'm thinking about 4.88s since 37" MTRs are in the works.

The Art-Carr 700 is working great, and I'll be adding a deep aluminum pan with a pressure gauge before too long.

Details that I added or modified:
Since the low pressure AC lines ran so close to the impeller side of the turbo, I went a head and wrapped both. I used DEI's turbo wrap kit, and used the fire sleeve on the AC lines.

I used insulating wrap on the entire crossover and downpipe. There sure is a lot of downpipe under the hood, and it runs very close to a lot of stuff, so it made sense to insulate. I also insulated a portion of the exhaust that passed by all my tranmission lines that fed the spin in filter. I insulated the entire length of both heater hoses.