PDA

View Full Version : Intermitent loss of power

mdregister
06-30-2004, 13:26
Ok, I will keep this as short as possible.

I am a complete newbie to diesels, so bear with me..

I have a new (to me) 1985 3/4 ton Chevy Suburban K20 6.2L J code 4X4 with a three speed automatic (th400) and 119000 miles. Dual exhaust.

When I first picked the truck up a few months ago, everything seemed fine. Well, fine as far as I know, I do not have anything to compare it to as I had never driven one of these before.

Sometime later, after a few hundred miles and a few trips onto the beach, the truck developed a loss of power and a miss, along with a small amount of black smoke at idle while in gear. I took the truck to a diesel repair shop and they advanced the timing by rotating the injection pump. The miss went away, but still had a small amount of black smoke "puffs" while at idle and a small amount of steady black smoke underacceleration (proportional to engine/throttle speed).

All seemed fine for a few days but later noticed an intermittent loss of power from a dead stop, which is where I am now.

I replaced the lift pump on someones suggestion and noticed an improvement right away (even my wife who never notices such things commented on the increased power). While things are better, I still feel like I have a power issue.

From a dead stop, my poor old dead grandmother could roll her way faster to 15 mph or so. After that the performance improves but still varies from time to time.

The previous owner had the injector pump rebuilt after it crapped out on him in florida at about 80,000 miles. I believe Accurate Diesel did the work.

I have also put on a new fuel filter and air filter.