PDA

View Full Version : a good block to start?

doncannon
11-01-2003, 05:56
Hello All,
I would like to know what blocks are good to start building an engine and how you can tell the fabled "599" block from the rest?
Also is the old red engine better than a 84-86 black engine or should these be scraped infavor of the previously mentioned 599?
Thank you for all your help,
Don

mhagie
11-01-2003, 14:43
Don,I will explain things as I understand them with the disclaimer that I am no expert on this subject.
First the 599 originates from the casting numbers embossed on the rear of the block directly behind drivers side cyl head, there is a short flat spot between head and bellhousing mtg flange.
the passengers side reveals the date code a letter followed by three numbers the last being the year cast
The 599 (10149599) and the 12552929 are both of the same design meaning they are cast with the dual role of either being a 6.2 or with a minor overbore a 6.5, the advantage here is they can be bored to 6.5 without any compromise to cyl wall thickness.
The 2929 block usually has a date code of 94 which confuses people thinking that 93 was the end of the 6.2 The 2929 was cast as a replacement engine most likely a Mr. Goodwrench. The cyl wall thickness is the main reason for their popularity, but there are blocks of these numbers that have been known to crack.
As to the red block there are some that say strength wise they are the cream of the crop as they had a stronger casting than the rest but was discontinued because it was so hard it made machining more difficult.
The worst years are the first design of the piston oiler blocks but that was improved in the 99 and up blocks.
The school of thought is that if you find a seasoned used block crack-free it will most likely remain so.
The original power project 6.5 truck is a good example, Tough Guy has accumulated well over 100k with no ill effects. :D ........Merle

doncannon
11-05-2003, 18:25