PDA

View Full Version : Oil For A Duramax

Roy W
07-11-2005, 09:21
I plan on changing my own oil, and will stay with dino oil for the time being. What brand of oil are most people using. I know Delo 400 has been around for ages and is supposed to be good. Any other recommendations??

tanker
07-11-2005, 17:28
I've been using Shell Rotella 15/40 since 1996 in my personal vehicles, and back to the mid 80's on big rigs I've driven.
As long as the oil meets the specs set forth by the engine manufacturer, you will be fine. Pick one and stay with it. ;)

jbplock
07-12-2005, 01:59
Dittos to Tanker's comments... http://forum.thedieselpage.com/ubb/icons/icon14.gif

For non-synthetic diesel oils choose a 15W40 with an API service rating of CI-4 or CI-4+. Popular choices are DELO 400, Rotella T and Mobil Delvac 1300.

If you decide to go with a synthetic some popular choices are AMSOIL AME 15W40, Rotella T 5W40 (Group-III base stock), Mobil Delvac-1 5W40 and Mobil-1 Truck and SUV 5W40. (Note that D1 and M1 T&SUV are nearly identical except D1 has been updated to meet the latest CI-4+ spec).

smile.gif

David Proske
07-13-2005, 19:31
I have read on another forum that the new formulation of Delo 400 has moly in it. That should make that great oil even better!

Heartbeat Hauler
07-13-2005, 21:15
Shell Rotella T 15w-40 for me. It's a good oil and is readily available.....like Wal-Mart which means good pricing. Also, Tractor Supply carries Rotella in the 2.5 gallon jugs...makes it easier than the 2 one gallon jugs and 2 one quart bottles. It's the little things in life that make you happy..... :D
JP

Driveshaft
07-17-2005, 06:13
I saw Mobil Truck and SUV synthetic in Walmart's in 5 quart bottles for $19.58 the other day. That's the oil I use.

JD Diesel
07-17-2005, 07:35
If it don't say diesel oil I wont run it adative package is different then oil for gasser. JD ;)

bamabadboy
07-17-2005, 14:37