PDA

View Full Version : Extended towing with juice or quad

chucktwest
09-05-2003, 23:31
Hello, I'm a newbie and I want to say thanks for all of priceless information on this forum. I was hoping to get some information/advice from anyone with experience using a Juice or Quad during extended towing with a fairly heavy load. Most of the information I have seen here is about the higher hp tunes in use on short runs or on a dyno. I plan on getting gauges when I purchase the box, but I would like to know which horsepower settings I can expect to need to use in order to keep the drivetrain/egt's safe during long hauls. When I am running too fast for the trans to downshift, I would like to have more passing power. Also, when I am pulling at regular highway speeds I don't like the way the trans shifts up and down under the slightest strain. Any advice on what tune with which box would be best for extended towing with 7000lb or more? Do you think it would help with the passing/shifting situations listed above. Thanks for all of your help.

JEBar
09-06-2003, 05:42
I suspect you will get a variety of opinions in response to this question. I have between 15,000 and 20,000 towing miles on my truck (44,000+ all together). While I tow any one of several different trailers, two are usually loaded in the 7,000 to 10,000 pound range. I understand your concern for you engine and transmission and have found that towing with a regular Juice Level 2 or a hot Juice set in Level 1 to give me exceptional service. Doing so has resolved the transmission shifting issues you mentioned. EGT's consistently run in pretty much the same range as when I tow without a Juice unit ... Hope this helps ... Jim

Tractorhauler
09-06-2003, 06:58
Welcome to the Diesel Page Chuck!