PDA

View Full Version : Hot juice.

tmg115
08-14-2002, 22:18
i noticed that my juice box gets very hot. is this ok or should i worry?

JEBar
08-15-2002, 03:55
am glad to see this question raised, have wondered the same about mine from day one ... unit has performed flawlessly so I've about decided it is probably ok for it to maintain such a high temperature :cool:

mackin
08-15-2002, 04:26
Mine get pretty hot.......A lot is I would think is do to engine compartment heat......

MAC smile.gif

DMAXDiva
08-15-2002, 05:32
I've also noticed the heat...too hot to touch more often than not. I'm no electronics expert, but I do know that excessive heat is the death nail of electronic components. Take your computer for example. The processor must be able to dissipate damaging heat, therefore most CPU's employ fans to draw that damaging heat away...hmmm...sure does make me wonder about the Juice...

I'd sure like to defer to someone with electronics expertise on this one...SoCalSteve? What's your take?

CSDMAX
08-15-2002, 05:34
In addition to the heat generated by the engine compartment, the main circuit board in the juice box generates heat like circuit boards in computers, etc. There is more than likely a heatsink to dissipate the heat from the circuit board, therefore, the box feels hot. Just my 0.02.

Don

DMAXDiva
08-15-2002, 07:14
Hey CSDMAX:

Thanks for the reply...I'm still wondering, though, if there is indeed a heatsink within the box, where does the dissipated heat go? Isn't it just trapped inside the box? I'm sure some radiant heat could be lost from the surface, but in an oven-like engine compartment, is a sufficient amount removed?

Kennedy
08-15-2002, 07:18
The majority of the components are poted in epoxy. The "depth of fill" seems to vary, but basically, the shell itself is the heat transfer source.

[ 08-16-2002: Message edited by: kennedy ]</p>

CSDMAX
08-15-2002, 08:55