PDA

View Full Version : LETS TALK HRS

PEANUTGRWR
08-16-2002, 22:57
OK ALL THIS TALK HERE LATELY ABOUT OIL ANALYSIS HAS MADE ME WONDER. ON MY FARM EQUIPMENT (TRACTORS COMBINES COTTONSTRIPPERS WELLMOTORS ETC.) WE GO BY HOURS USED NOT MILES. AND THATS THE WAY IVE BEEN GOING ABOUT SERVIVE ON MY MY DMAX HERE LATELY IS BY HOURS AND NOT MILES. I WAS WONDERING IF ANY OF YOU GO BY HOURS (USED) INSTEAD OF MILES TOO. THESES $120,000 JOHN DEERES THAT I HAVE BEEN RUNNING FOR SEVERAL YEARS GET SERVICED ANYWHERE FROM 100-150 HRS DEPENDANT ON THE TYPE OF USE AND LOAD THEY HAVE BEEN UNDER FOR THAT DURATION. THAT TYPE OF SERVICE INTERVAL IS WHAT IS RECOMENDED IN THE OWNERS MANUAL. AND MY POINT IS------ IF YOU DO THE MATH WITH THE MILES VERSUS THE HOURS USED SOME PEOPLE ARE CHANGING THE OIL BEFORE THEY SHOULD BE. AND BEILIVE ME I HAVE DONE THIS FOR A LONG WHILE NOW, SOME OF MY TRACTORS HAVE OVER 10,000 HRS ON THEM(WITH NO PROBLEMS) AND I USE THIS (RECOMENDED) SERVICE PLAN AND I WOULDNT JEAPORDIZE AN EXSPENISIVE TRACTOR'S ENGINE TO SAVE A FEW DALLORS, BUT ARE WE CHANGING THE OIL TO SOON IN OUR TRUCKS WHEN GOING BY MILEAGE????? :eek:

Nels
08-17-2002, 00:07
I had wondered the same thing, so I installed an "Hours since last service" column to my mileage and service costs spreadsheet (below, in sig). I seem to be averaging between 86 and 90 hours on an oil change. Probably could go longer, but I'm ok with it. Oil is cheap.

hdmax(mike)
08-17-2002, 05:41
Nels; I`m new to excel. How does your spreadsheet work? And how would I go about setting one up?

Thanks!

JEBar
08-17-2002, 06:13