PDA

View Full Version : Remote Starter recommendations

DA_MAXX
06-12-2003, 13:30
I interested in a remote starter for my 03Chev/Duramax/Alli combo. Most are sold as accessories to car alarm systems. Is there a better unit/brand for diesel applications ?
Which do most prefer ? Do they allow for proper "wait to start" time ?

On a related question. How long do you warm the duramax up before driving ? Summer, winter ?

How long do you let it run to cool off ?

I'm a newbie to diesel rigs (3 months). Just want to make sure I take of this 40+k investiment.

Thanks in advance. :rolleyes:

Alli-max
06-12-2003, 19:36
I have this one... http://www.autopageusa.com/autopageusars750.htm

It has worked flawlessly. It has a nice feature where you can make it start all night long and run for selected times during cold weather. Somebody help me out with Jason's website.. I bought it from him.

As for warm up, in the summer I drive it. Winter when it is pretty cold, I let it sit there for 5 minutes or so.

Cool down. I am pretty good at this when it comes to long hauls. There is a button I hit on the remote start, I get out and it runs for an additional 10 minutes and turns off by itself. But, 5 minutes would sufice.

Riverholic
06-12-2003, 21:41
I have the Viper 550 ESP. I have had it for 1 1/2 years and have not had any problems. It won't start the truck until the 'wait to start' goes out. It also has the cool down feature, so when I get done with a big drive I press the buttons and it stays running for 10 minutes. Also during the winter it has the feature that starts it up every hour for 12 hours. I saw that viper has come out with a newer one that has an LCD remote so you can look at your remote and it will tell you once your truck has started.

DA_MAXX
06-12-2003, 22:02
Thanks for the feedback.