PDA

View Full Version : The last word on fuel filters? George and JK where are you?

NWDmax
11-23-2002, 17:42
The biggest concern I have right now on my truck is the "ineffective" fuel filter.
I've read all the posts regarding this subject and still no final filter solution.
Srubrn's install looks simple and clean and if there are no driveability issues why not do it his way?
It's bugging the crap out of me thinking of all the little abrasive particles chewing the guts out of my injectors.All the while the warranty clock is ticking.....
I'm a newbie to posting here but have been a "freebie reader" for about 6 months.Bought my truck about 4 months ago.15k and no problems.Just want to keep it that way! Blake smile.gif

srubrn
11-23-2002, 19:26
NWDmax,

So far there are no drivabilty problems. One thing to wait on is, the fuel analysis test from this unit. I am waiting on the kits from George now. I will post results as soon as I have them.

LanduytG
11-23-2002, 20:15
To show how dirty fuel can screw things up, I had to change the injectors in my 99 VW 1.9L TDI. It only had 55K miles on it and the spray patterns were not good. Each nozzle has 5 holes that it sprays from. At least 2 holes on each nozzles were spraying very wide streams and one hole was block intirely. I was talking to George about them and we both feel the dirty fuel I have caused the early replacement. i will be getting a good filter on this vehicle soon. The 95 6.5TD already has a 2 micron Racor on it, and its doing a great job. The injectors on the 6.5TD have 53K miles on them and I am going to pull them soon and look them because it burns the same fuel the VW does.
Greg

MaxACL
11-23-2002, 22:16
I'm still concerned about sending clean (Racor filtered) fuel into the existing GM filter. If it's contaminating clean fuel then it needs to be isolated... doesn't it?