PDA

View Full Version : Racor's Comments on Fuel Filter Test Results

roegs
03-08-2003, 11:08
I was interested to read Racor's comments on the Fuel Filter Test Results thread yesterday. Racor implies the the existing OEM filter exceeds Bosch's requirements for the system. Being a newbie, I'm a little confused on what (if any) additional filtering might be necessary for my truck. From the reading I've done so far, I've seen the following options:

1. JK's Baldwin setup that can be pre or post OEM. Baldwin system.

2. Cat Filters installed both pre and post OEM. (both large and small micron ratings)

3. Racor filter installed pre OEM. (both large and small micron ratings)

4. Racor rep saying OEM should be fine.

Speaking for us beginners, how do we weed through all this information? Can I assume that any additional filtering is better than none? Also, how do I know if I need a heater? When I registered here at the DP, I knew I was in for a diesel education, but I'm now overloaded... :D

FirstDiesel
03-08-2003, 11:26
roegs

AS a relative newbie here too I've been reading all this info with great interest. Here's my take and position.

I couldn't care less that Racor says the filter meets Bosch's spec. What's he going to say, we made a piece of c**p?

The point is there have been way to many injector failures. Somethings wrong and it sure looks like it's dirty fuel.

Both George and John have test data showing the fuel is not clean enough for our trucks. A better filter is needed.

I don't think it really matters how you do it as long as the result is fuel clean enough to not damage the injectors.

This will be one of those you pay your money and make your choice deals. There will be cheap solutions and expensive ones and they both should work fine if designed right.