PDA

View Full Version : Super Low MPG

Aryeh Levy
07-20-2005, 19:38
I bought my beautiful blue truck in February for driving around and being rediculously big:-D

My Wife's Dad has a gasser 93 k2500 and gets the same MPG as I do 12 MPG. It doesn't matter what I do really, light throttle, lead foot... Once i had 10 mpg one tank once i had 14, but now that i fill the tank all the way to the top of the filler neck, it's been 12.5 every time. I replaced the vacuum solenoid because of excess smoke, and that has been fixed, but the MPG its dead 12.4 every time. City or Highway Doesn't matter.
What gives? I'm new to this stuff, I know i should probably replace the post turbo downpipe and put mild propane injection in the airbox, but do you guys my Lockup Torque converter not locking up? I know some of you guys get 17 MPG in these trucks with this gearing. I... I want that. Also, I went to warranties 4 wheels, and they said internally lubricated parts failure for powertrain was $900 for 100,000 miles. Seems like a decent deal for this truck - what with cracked pistons, blocks, main webbings, and transmission blowouts, it seems like its a good deal.
Also I'm looking for a good 6.5 mechanic on the north side of DC - border of PG/Montgomery County.

I have to say the A/C Tech's at Fox automotive were better than the folks at precision automotive - they took $45 and didnt even jumper the cycling switch...

(they've got my baby this week because my radiator got a leak- $500 labor to put it in, my own supplied OEM radiator shipped to them $315)
$140 Coolant flush to Green.
New radiator hoses,
New Serpentine Belt
New AC Cycling Switch $300 parts/labor
$176 to diagnose everything

= My paycheck this month :-/

Any ideas how to get better mpg other than engine work?

DA BIG ONE
07-21-2005, 01:33
Before any mods, my burb w/4.10's had a steady 17mpg @70mph, surely your rig does not weigh much more than my 2500 Burb.