PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable Fuel Gauge??

j7l2
03-12-2004, 06:47
Due to many members admitting that their fuel gauges read inaccurately, is there an electrical device that could be installed in the wire that feeds the gauge, so that you could calibrate the fuel gauge reading by varying or adjusting the signal(?) that is going to the gauge? I am not good with electrical issues, so this may not be possible. Any of our members with knowledge in this area, care to comment?
Thank you,
JimO

TurboDiverArt
03-12-2004, 07:58
I must be one of the lucky ones. Although my gauge fills to past full, I just filled up this morning with 23.5 gallons of fuel and my gauge read just slightly lower than 1/2. It would probably be a little off once I get to 1/4 tank but it being winter I only draw down to 1/2 tank and fill up weekly.

Addressing the issue, it seems plausible. I believe the gauge is a resistance device to determine fuel level. With that said I'd think that adding a resistor to the signal wire would change the resistance at the gauge. The problem is that I don't know if adding resistance would make the problem better or worse. I'd assume the resistance that would need to be added would be small.

I'm sure someone smarter than me and with the proper manuals will know more if it would work or not and what resistance to start with. GMCTD, where are you? ;)

Art.

gmctd
03-12-2004, 20:56
Well, since you rattled my chain..... ;)

The GM fuel sender is approximately 100 ohms. Empty is zero ohms, Full is 90 ohms.

The several areas of fault are -

The gage - the magnetic shaft binds, causing non-linear movement. Some free up over time, some do not.

Connectors - outside the truck, can oxidize and become resistive to open circuit, and can be cleaned.

The sending unit - a rheostat, is resistive wire wound, grounded at the bottom end.
The grounded slider wipes up the resistor toward the gage connection, reducing the effective resistance as the tank empties.