PDA

View Full Version : Ideal truck up-grade(s)

Max_Nani
05-28-2002, 23:53
Newbie...thank you to all forum members.

I've been following this forum the day I got my truck last December, 2001. I have no mechanical experience (except regular maintenance) and/or towing experience. :(

If you have $1,000 to spend, what upgrade will you do first with your truck? (ex. auxiliary tank, EDGE, Kennedy exhaust, etc)

Thank you again.
Nani :mad: :mad:

stretch
05-29-2002, 02:55
Up the anty a few hundred and get both. Kennedy exhaust and the Edge "juice" are both quality products that once you have it, you can't figure out how you lived without it. :D

[ 05-29-2002: Message edited by: stretch ]</p>

pullinpower
05-29-2002, 06:34
I would go with the edge/amp box and a transfer flow fuel tank in the bed. :D

AzKevin
05-29-2002, 12:33
Max_Nani,

Welcome aboard!

As you no doubt already know, by far the best hp/torque bang for the buck is the Edge Juice box. :D

But since you tow a ~30ft (?) trailer I'd say boost/EGT gauges and then the Edge box. Posts have reported the Edge box indeed improves shift business while towing.

All indications are that exhaust mods have negligible hp/torque return for the dollar invested. Aside from that there can be more noise or resonations which may or may not be an issue to you. The stock exhaust system was designed to maintain reasonable EGTs levels while towing at the max 22000# GCVWR. Adding the Juice (power levels 1 or 2 ) with gauges should provide a safe tow solution for loads less than max GCVWR! smile.gif

[ 05-29-2002: Message edited by: AzKevin ]</p>

Kennedy
05-29-2002, 12:46
While it IS true that HP gains from exhaust are negligible when tested on a dyno, the real world results are much different. In order to get fuel, you must first move air and the ECM must see this.

Most that have upgraded the exhaust report much quicker response, and that counts for something!