PDA

View Full Version : Well, I got the infamous "tick" figured out.....

Duramaxerado
03-17-2003, 21:02
As someo f you may know, I am a colission tech. @ a chevrolet dealer here in town. My new Duramax ticks like a !@%*! and it has been driving me NUTS!!! I also have 2 good buddies I know who work at DMAX LTD and htey have been helping me with TONS of info from the ticking noise to private info on new designes comming from dmax in the future. I gave one of my buds my engine number and he pulled all of the hot test data for my engine and mailed it to me today. I will post part of his email to me below. My diesel mechanic gave me a printed copy of the service info GM offers their techs.. Here is what it says..

Some of the above vehicles may exhibit a randon ticking noise that is most audible on an engine with a coolant temp of 70 deg C (158F) or higher and from idle to approximately 1500 RPM. The noise is usually most noticeable at the rear of the drivers side front wheel well. Customers may also comment about hearing a tick noise inside the vehicle at idle such as when sitting at a drive through window. All 6600 Duramax engines have this condition; however, some are more audible than others. Engine build variation from engine to engine contributes to differences in percieved volume. All duramax engines are manufactured to very close tolerences to meet the durability and reliability standards.

This noise is caused by the relationship of the engine cylinder block, crankshaft journals, bearing inserts, and the oil film. This relationship may allow a vibration that resonates through the cylinder block and is heard as a metallic ticking noise. The noise could be described as an irregular ticking or clacking sound, like random typing on a mechanical typewriter.