PDA

View Full Version : Voltage regulation/ fluctuations during idle?

FisHn2DMax
12-13-2002, 03:28
Hi,
I'm relatively New to the D-Max and was wondering if anyone else has noticed their lights going slightly dimmer or suddenly brighter during a stop light idle? I've also noticed it with the interior heater/AC fan suddenly going faster or slower at Idle. I know this could be related to the altenator voltage regulation, or Intake heater cycling, but is this normal for the D-Max to see such a wide voltage regulation? Could the Intake Heater be causing this much of a variation?

Just seems to have a large voltage variation at times, and I'm wondering if this is just a normal characteristic of the D-Max, or If I have a problem? In Dash voltage meter ranges from approx 13.5-14.5 volts depending on engine RPM. Has no problems starting and with engine not running, voltage (in Dash) reads approx. 9.5 Volts during glow plug period and 12.0 volts post glow, with lights on.

Thanks for the help..

G.S.
tongue.gif smile.gif

[ 12-13-2002: Message edited by: FisHn2DMax ]</p>

hoot
12-13-2002, 04:32
Yep. Mine does that.

polaris800
12-13-2002, 08:02
My 2003 does that say thing and also my 2001 did it to. I think it is a normal thing. I had my 2001 alternater replaced because of this problem but it never changed a thing. I was told that it is normal and occures because you dont want full voltage going to the fuel/engine system.

Jim Cobler
12-13-2002, 15:15
I have a digital voltage meter that plugs into the cigarite lighter which has revealed some intereting information for me at least.

When you turn the key on and the warmup starts, you should expect the voltage to drop and it does because the fuel filter heater and the glow plugs are pulling a lot of amps. When you start the engine, the voltage will often be less than 12 volts until the heaters turn off. Usually does not take long.