PDA

View Full Version : Warranty & Fuel Filters

dcalex
12-31-2004, 01:34
I was at the dealer today looking at trucks and asking more questions. As they started to try to sell me a truck, I said I will not buy a truck if the service manager has warranty heartburn about putting 265's on it, and I would not buy a dmax if he had heartburn over an aftermarket fuel filter system. The sales guy disappeared for a while and when he came back he said no problem with the 265's, but the service mngr wasn't excited at all about the fuel filtration. Maybe you can help me here.....why in the world would a service mngr NOT want more filtration? I even told him I'd talk to him about it before I bought one......I said I'd even let him install it or inspect my install. I'm just beginning to research filtration, but saw one at 2 microns and 90gph rate. I would think he'd be jumping up & down to have people install something like that. Am I missing something that I need more education on?

jbplock
12-31-2004, 07:05
Dcalex,

I would ask to talk to their Duramax Tech. This could give you a feel for how much experience they have with the Duramax… If you don’t get good vibes look for another dealer… Looking back I wish I had done this before buying my Duramax.. After I bought my truck and installed a Mega filter I asked the service writer about added fuel filtration .. He told me it would void the warranty.. He also said they don't have problems with Duramax injectors... My conclusion was either they don't sell many Duramax trucks or he was being less than truthful... Needless to say I don't deal with them anymore... Good luck! smile.gif

Kennedy
12-31-2004, 11:13
If you go to a 3500 SRW, you get 265's from new.

If he bucks about added filtration, he obviously knows little about diesel...

royalglen
01-01-2005, 09:04