PDA

View Full Version : PO746 CODE

1DURAMAX
04-09-2004, 19:39
I've been hanging around this forum for a couple of years now and found it to be a wealth of knowledge and information. I thank all of the member's for their posts, they have been invaluable. I've never needed to post before now
because I always found the info I was after, but now I need some info I can't seem to find. The other day I upgraded my Juice to the 125 Attitude and went out to play WOW NICE TOY. Then I set to no defuel on any shift,just once to try it. All shifts were slick until 4-5 then she slipped hard and set code po746 also went into limp mode. I parked it for a bit scanned with SNAP-ON MODIS.We couldn't clear the code but on re-start SES light was on and truck ran normal. Could some-one tell me what po746 is and how to erase code from history log. Thanks in advance.

mdrag
04-09-2004, 20:54
1DURAMAX,

I found this explanation for P0746 at THE OBDII PAGE (AUTOTAP) (http://www.obdii.com/codes.asp):

P0746 Pressure Control Solenoid A Performance or Stuck Off

I've never had a tranny DTC on my truck, but I imagine a TECH2 would be able to clear it - I'm not familiar with the Snap-On scan tools. The SES should clear after a number of ignition cycles.

1DURAMAX
04-10-2004, 04:06
Thanks MDRAG,
The SES light did go out after several ignition cycles. The SNAP-ON MODIS scanner had the same desciption as AUTOTAP but I was hoping I could find out what exactly it means. So that I can take corrective action if any is required.

Modified
04-10-2004, 14:06
Per Helms 2002, DTC P0746 was formerly DTC P1720.

Link below was question about P1720, which also occurred after Ally went limp. Probably overpowered the Allison with lack of defueling.
http://forum.thedieselpage.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=7;t=005723#000000

This is what I read, and don't know anything about it.

"DTC P1720 sets when the TCM detects an incorrect oncoming ratio, range to range, for an accumulated number of occurances".