Thread: Dumping catalytic converter problems...

I have an 04 LB7, CA version w/ a catalytic converter.

I am currently looking at a turbo back exhaust system.

Do I have to keep my catalytic converter, or can i dump it?
    If I dump it, will it set off any error codes?
    It doesn't appear to have anything connected to it, so I don't see how the on board diagnostics would know if it is there or not...

I am a newbie here any any help would be greatly appreciated.
    2004 2500HD D/A LB7 CC SB 4x4, AFE Pro7, Juice / Attitude w/ Trippin mount, Kittyless MBRP 4\", Bilstiens, N1cktane, High Idle

Originally posted by fireresource:
    I have an 04 LB7, CA version w/ a catalytic converter.

I am currently looking at a turbo back exhaust system.

Do I have to keep my catalytic converter, or can i dump it?
    If I dump it, will it set off any error codes?
    It doesn't appear to have anything connected to it, so I don't see how the on board diagnostics would know if it is there or not...

I am a newbie here any any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Are you from Cali? If so, I know they do smog tests and stuff there (unlike here in AR). Taking a Cat off of a Cali truck would be highly illegal - I wouldn't recommend it.
    2002 Pewter 2500HD D/A EC SB 4wd Warn 12K SOLD! 103k miles
    2007 White 2500HD CC SB LBZ 4wd Warn 12K Stock

AFAIK, diesels are not required to get smog checks, but I could be wrong (wouldn't be the first time today).

Anyways, I could swap them out for the test if needed. I'm more worried about throwing error codes or lights on my dash coming on.

[ 12-23-2004, 08:27 AM: Message edited by: fireresource ]
    2004 2500HD D/A LB7 CC SB 4x4, AFE Pro7, Juice / Attitude w/ Trippin mount, Kittyless MBRP 4\", Bilstiens, N1cktane, High Idle

Originally posted by fireresource:
    AFAIK, diesels are not required to get smog checks, but I could be wrong (wouldn't be the first time today).