Thread: Glow Controller???

Angry

My '94 2500 is dead in my driveway. Drove it home from work, went out to move it an hour later and everything blinks off/on when I turn the switch to the glow stage. Then only clicks if I turn the key to fire the engine. Everything including the radio and ac blinks off and on during the glow stage. I can also hear a clicking in the dash during this time. I can turn the key to only power the radio and it works fine. My dash shows my battery at 12V. Hooked up a charger in start mode and nothing better. I figure something wrong with the glow controller, but I have no experience to back it up. Any ideas would be great!!
    Thanks
    Jason in NC

[ 07-08-2002: Message edited by: jclay ]

[ 07-08-2002: Message edited by: jclay ]</p>

Hi jclay,

Had a similar problem with my 97' CC 3500. The dash lighting was going haywire when I had turned on the ignition. It turned out that it had too much juice (wrong fuse put in) going to the trailer brakes and melted some of the wiring to the point that pos/neg wires crossed. Dash lights flashed, door chime going crazy, etc. I don't know if this helps but... Did you make any changes in wiring or fuses?
    DP Member 9428<br />2002 Chevy 2500HD LT, D/A, Ext. Cab, SB, Dark Carmine Red/Med. Grey.

No changes, but my trailer brake controller has never worked. My problem is only when I turn to hit the glow plugs so I dont think it's in the wiring. AC and radio work if I turn the switch to only power the aux equipment.

But thanks for your reply. Good to know!

Come on guys.... my truck is blocking my entire driveway. Too difficult to get it towed. It's got to be something simple!

Where is the glow controller?

Exclamation

jclay