Thread: Front suspension bump stops

Newbie here.
    I was under the truck changing the transmission filter yesterday (dealer said it didn't need changing until 25K -- idiot) and I noticed the front lower control arms are apparently in contact with the yellow bump stops with the truck flat on the ground. Is this how they designed this thing? It seems to ride OK, although I'm considering the Bilsteins for better ride control.
    Thanks,
    Jim
    2003 Silverado 2500HD D/A CC, 5900 miles.

[ 11-23-2003, 04:40 AM: Message edited by: 2fast2 ]

2Fast2, I have an 03 GMC 4X4 2500. My yellow bumpers are touching (on level ground). I have a friend with a crew cab 03 4X4 that adjusted the torsion bars. After he made this adjustment the bumpers are not touching. You will love the Bilsteins!! The ride will be slightly firmer, however the over all handeling (loaded and unloaded) will be a vast improvement! Good luck! [img]smile.gif[/img]
    03 GMC 2500HD 4X4 Duramax Allison.

On my 2001 GMC Ext cab, when I adjusted the torsion bars to factory specs, I have about 1/4" clearance now.
    chipper 2001 GMC,,D/MAX,SLE,EXT CAB,LONGBED,LINEX,FIRESTONE AIR BAGS,,driv\'en it & smilling, 32' Excel 5er

Turbo Al Guest

One of the guys at work just bought a 2003 gas pot and his bump stops are touching as well, so it's not the weight of the diesel engine doing it.

Guess that is the way GM intended it. Very strange that an integral part of the suspension would be a rubber bumper. Since this is at the inner end of the lower control arm, there'd actually be a fair amount of wheel movement to produce a small compression at the bump stop, but still, it makes me wonder.
    Jim

My truck rides on the bump stops also. asked the dealer about it, they said it was normal. I looked at half a dozen 2500HD's and they all sat on the stops.