Thread: 6.5 TD died Not PMD/OPS/Fuel Filter/air/no codes

Default 6.5 TD died Not PMD/OPS/Fuel Filter/air/no codes

To start my 94 6.5 TD Blazer died with less than 1/4 of gas and would not restart. This is my first time working on one so I am sorry for not being up to speed on all of the terminology and mechanics of a diesel engine.

So the the next day, I got 10 gallons of new fuel from a different station, changed the fuel filter (very dirty), bled the fuel threw the top of the filter, still would not idle long and does not respond to throttle, blew white smoke.

Searched the internet and before making the PMD purchase changed the oil pressure sensor, bled the fuel again at each injector (seemed to help a little) but still 98% hard to idle and nonresponsive to throttle, finally had one time where it did respond and ran it at 1700 RPM for a couple of min and tried to drive it, heard a loud Psssssssss sound at high rpm before it tried to shift and it died 1.5 blocks from my house and would not idle. Towed it back home

Replaced the PMD, checked for codes, no codes only the standard 12.
    Checked for air in the return lines, no air

Unplugged the optical sensor and it started right up, no smoking, running rough or anything.

Checked for codes now, and came up with 17,18,35,36,43

took it to a shop today, they told me the same codes, but after clearing the codes and pluggin in the optical sensor, now it is showing the same codes. So they are saying it is definitly the injector pump and I need a new one at 1200+ 600 for install

I am just curious why it was not saying any codes until I unplugged the optical sensor and if they did clear the codes and plug it back in why it would show codes now.

Secondly, I am not willing to pay that much for the rebuilt injector pump.
    Is there anything else I should ask them to do while it is at the shop, or take it home, buy a new pump for 700 and install it and have the timing checked afterwards