Thread: Web cracks?

Default Web cracks?

I Just got myself a pick n pull 6.2 from a 88 van, half price. I pulled the engine, because i have yet to see a junk yard 6.2 as clean as this one, and am looking to swap a 6.2 into a 74 suburban. The motor looks brand new inside. i doubt its got much more than break in hours on it. It had been rebuild in the very recent past. But closer inspection when i got it home found a couple small main web cracks. If i was going to rebuild it, i would look for a new block. But as this one is complete and apparently fresh, even the alternator, IP, everything, i would like to run it as is. I also found at pick n pull, banks exhaust manifolds, and the intake piece, but no turbo. I wanted to run it turbo'd. The engine is going in a 74 1/2t suburban that will never tow more than a sand rail trailer, and see less than 5000 miles a year. Should i just run the motor? Ive done alot of research, but im new to the world of 6.2's.

My answer would be no. Whether a 6.2 6.5, 911, 454, whatever....never put a cracked block into something you plan on driving. I bet a competent machine shop/engine builder of any flavor can square you away for a nominal sum. Think of it this way: How would you feel if you had to watch your buddies tear up the sand dunes because your rig was 25 miles away with its hazards on?

my 2 cents,

Charles
    www.youtube.com/dieselsailor
    94 Sub 2500 4X4, 130k 3.73,19.5mpg hwy 12.5mpg tow,oil/diesel leaks fixed,(3-07),ES9000 Pro Comp Shocks!(4-07),amplifier on order!(4-07),New Lift Pump!(5-07),Ram-air/cold air intake!(5-07),Optima Red tops! (5-07),0 gauge battery/alternator custom lines! (6-07),New condenser & harmonic balancer (7/07),New rims and tires-265/75/r16! (7/07),Sound system done! (8/07),Alternator blown from sound system (8/07),160 amp alternator on order!

Planning: cooling upgrade, 4" exhaust, injectors, tow chip, triple gauge pillar, and gps in-dash.