Thread: Manual Glow Controller :)

Default Manual Glow Controller :)

So I did it yesterday, got some good copper wire, a Ford starter solenoid from a 1970's Big Block, a nice illuminated spring loaded toggle switch, and some good electrical connectors from the electrical supply house.
    I can't take credit for the design but there are a few things I learned here. Being an electrician, I know the importance of a good solid electrical connection. There's no substitute when doing anything electrical, never cheap out and buy rinky dink connectors. If using stake-on fork or ring terminals, buy a GOOD set of crimpers don't hack it in with cheapo pliers.
    Anyway, I followed some info I got in one of the post here, and ran a new number 6 copper wire from one side of the new solenoid direct from the battery. Then from the other side of the solenoid to the factory 1988 glow plug controller. Use a 1/2 inch wrench to remove the 2 little grey wires on the load side of the factory controller. CLEAN them with a small file, then install your brand new wire from the solenoid to this controller then reinstall the 2 grey leads which feed your glow plugs... make sure you have a good lock washer in there.