Thread: 6.5 REBUILD

Hello everyone, I am a brand newbie to this site. I have 3 old 6.2's, 84,85,86. these motors all have about 250,000 each and have all plowed snow for 15 years. My problem is my crank broke in half in my 86, and I just found out that these blocks are known for the main bearing bolt holes cracking which mine are, even in my spare 6.2 block. So, they are scrap.
    I have a good 1997 6.5 engine. I am missing the intake manifold, and the injection pump. I need to know if there is difference between a 6.2 and 6.5 manifold and what the difference is between a C & J block manifold. Also if a 6.2 injection pump will work on a 6.5 engine. Are the cylinder heads different? Desperate, as the snow will fly soon and truck is in pieces literally.
    Thanks,

Cubby
    85,86 One Ton Dualies,np205\'s 4x4\'s<br />87\' 1 ton single 4x4,np205,dana 60<br />91\' blazer soon to be 1 ton,fully restored<br />99\'Dodge Ram 2500 CTD 4x4<br />85\'CUCV Blazer (parts)

Arrow

The newer cylinder heads used on the late 6.2's and all 6.5's position the injectors at a more upright angle. This means your mid-80's fuel injector lines should not be used.

As long as you use 6.2 injectors with a 6.2 injection pump, it'll work fine (produce power like a 6.2) on the 6.5. For best results, don't mix 6.2 injectors with a 6.5 pump.

All of your 6.2 manifolds will bolt right onto the 6.5. Just make sure you use a 6.2 V-belt water pump if you're re-using all of your 6.2 accessories.

MP