Thread: Injector Balance Rate Specs

20050824|7|006327|000000|216.230.93.198 Guest

Angry

I have a 2003 D-Max with what I believe is an injector issue. The truck has a butt load of power when I first got her and over the summer I noticed my mileage droping from constant 18-19mpg to 12 (600+mp/tank to 350-385), mind you the truck has a 35 gal tank. I puff smoke every know and then as well when I get on it. I have brought the truck to the dealer several times stating I feel something is wrong with it. They tell me everytime nothing is wrong. The last time I threw enough of a stink to see the injector balance rates. What are the specs that are acceptable? At idle I noticed cylinder #3 1.1-1.4 for rates. I am no diesel expert but look if I wanted to spend an extra 5000 dollars for a diesel that gets no better then a 6.0l or 8.1L gas motor I'd saved my self some money. The truck is completely stock except for 285 wheels. Yes I know the size increase will affect the speedo reading somewhat but not that drastic. Any ideas out there?