Thread: "Battery Not Charging"

Default "Battery Not Charging"

This was the greeting from my DIC this morning and the IC voltmeter confirms it.
    Zero fault codes according to Torque Pro.
    So I put the truck where it needed to be to unload it and will proceed with fixing the issue.
    241,000 miles on the truck. What's the most likely thing? Ran great yesterday. Alternator? That's of course my first thought and will have it tested. Anything else I should look for?

The GM alternator that's in it right now is the original as far as I know. A quarter million miles isn't bad, but is there an OEM that's a better unit for a comparable price?
    Last edited by rapidoxidationman; 01-26-2018 at 08:25.

Arrow

www.alternatorparts.com

I've been trading with them (him) for a couple decades. Top notch products with no issues, ever. I upgraded mine to a higher output, more robust single generator when I was considering the OEM solution of duals. Still going strong with more power output at idle than the OEM at full speed. About a dozen other alternators and starters for other vehicles. The 2005 M/Y could be either 2 or 4 pin connector, so make sure you get the right one, either way. Give him a call. It's been a couple years since I've called, but he use to answer his phone.
    1985 Blazer 6.2
    2001 GMC 2500HD D/A
    dmaxmaverick@thedieselpage.com

Thanks Dmax! Didn't know that about the 2 vs 4 pin connector, so I'll pay attention when I pick up whatever I pick up to replace this one. Rumor has it that the 145 amp will fit in the same spot the present (105, I believe) one is in, so I might go that route. Making lunch now and will head to the driveway after to pull out the dead unit.

Default Fixed.