Thread: school me on DD 2 stroke conversions

Default school me on DD 2 stroke conversions

just weighing in on my options, I am a novice on diesel engines, always wanted to mess with them, but never really have done much, did a little work in the 80's on the olds 350 diesel & gas conversion, & a few things for friends, as well as a friend rig, who is a truck driver, just basic stuff. or welding when he broke stuff.

anyway I have a 1980 GMC 1 ton dually I used to drive, but engine messed up a few years ago, and I parked it, & now I have decided to pull it out of retirement & looking at my options, the truck has a 350 in it, however it left a trail of smoke where ever it went from rings being worn out, being reason I parked it. it has a granny gear 4 speed & I forget the rear gear around 4:1 the body is decent, & bed looks like from a 1950s wrecker, quite heavy duty.

I have a line on a couple small blocks, & a 454 big block, but 1 friend made comment why not convert it to diesel & I started looking at the net & have seen so many videos, & I love the sound of the DD 2 strokes, thats why I am here trying to learn & see if this is right for me, or do I just stay with gas. better fuel mileage would be a definate plus. the 350 got 10 to 12 mpg, thats it 10 loaded, & 12 empty.

mainly truck will be used to haul either firewood, gravel, or a car trailer as needed, but I may overload it with gravel, lol. I did when I was using it with gas, 2 to 2 1/2 tons, but it does have alot of extra springs in the rear, I only haul gravel to use on my driveway, my driveway is 1/4 mile & I havent put any on it since I took this off the road, & its past due, lol.