Thread: Anyone else having transmission problems with their 4500?

Default Anyone else having transmission problems with their 4500?

I'm not a mechanic so will probably get this all messed up, but we have a 2002 4500 that I know has a Duramax Diesel and an Allison transmission (I've heard him say that enough times). The truck's a 2WD and has 0 traction in the winter, so we didn't drive it in the winter for the first 2 years we had it.

Then this winter we were going to use it to haul logs to the sawmill and ran into a problem. Seems that the computer won't let the truck move if it doesn't have enough fluid in the transmission (?), torque converter (?), which is good, but the problem is that that makes the truck pretty useless when it's cold out.

The garage says that it's because we leave the truck sitting for too long between uses in the winter, which gives all the fluid time to drain, and then it's too cold to get up to where it's supposed to be so the computer shuts the tranny down.

Does it sound like I might have described the problem correctly?

Has anyone else run into this problem?

Thanks,

Kris
    --
    Kris Anderson
    Williamstown, MA

Arrow

Welcome to the Forums!

Your issue sounds normal for the early Allisons. If allowed to sit long enough, the torque converter will drain down, and prevent the tranny from engaging. You may have noticed the range selection on the instrument panel flashing when trying to select a gear.