Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tach install in 1984 C30 with 6.2L.

Default Tach install in 1984 C30 with 6.2L.

I am attempting to install a tachometer intended for a gasoline application (its actually out of a 1981 chevrolet pickup) and get it to work in my truck. Does anyone know if I can use the vss located on the tail section of the
    NV4500 transmission I installed in the truck to send a signal to the tachometer? Which of the two wires coming from the vss would be used? One or both? If my vss will work, will the circuit currently featured in the "Tachometer Alternatives for the 6.2L Diesel" article on the diesel page concerning using a gas tach in an early 6.2L application work for me? The circuit pictured in the article is a great idea, but I don't know how to acually make it (I have little experience reading electrical schematics and I don't know which wires connect to what). Any information would be very helpful and appreciated. Thanks.

Dr. Lee credits a GMCTD as the desiner oof the circuit. If you search under his name you should be able to find a step by step building guide for the circuit. if you want I will look around to see if I have a hard copy somewhere.
    86C 6.2l gmc
    "This to shall pass"
    "Life is to short for a Tim Horton Line up"

okay.... gmctd (member 1505) posted on 2003-12-06 15:09
    a step by step build guide for the tach driver that I belive you are talking about.

I think you might find a diesel tach out of an old chevy heavy truck that will fight your dash style. if you use a gas tach you will only be using the bottom 1/3rd of the scale. I belive thse engines are held to about 3600rpm and run best at 2000. If you search under Snoman87 he put togeather a nice dash setup using an older dump truck tach and stick on gage faces.
    86C 6.2l gmc
    "This to shall pass"

Arrow

Also......