Thread: 6.6turbo compression

Question 6.6turbo compression

I am new to the diesel world I've taken control of my fathers 2002 2500 HD 66 Turbo. Did a compression test over the weekend and all cylinders are between 775 PSI and 800 PSI is this normal? The only thing I can find online is that there should be a minimum of 300 PSI any advice and help would be greatly appreciated trying to get this thing back on the road. Also did a balance rates reading and have for bad injectors thank you very much for your help

Welcome aboard!

You need to run the test again. The engine should be up to operating temperature, and this time, shut off the fuel. Just cranking with the key won't do that. You're lucky you didn't blow the gage (most have a small enough orifice that prevents that, but not all). The Duramax engine will compression-fire the fuel without any heat help, even on a cold engine. Pull all the glow plugs, and use a starter switch tool (a momentary, hand-held button/switch with alligator clips that connect to the starter solenoid --get one at parts store or Harbor Freight) for cranking during the test. KEY OFF. 6 puffs (needle jumps) exactly for each.
    1985 Blazer 6.2
    2001 GMC 2500HD D/A
    dmaxmaverick@thedieselpage.com

Smile 66 turbo Diesel

Thank you very much. I had a mechanic friend of mine help me do this we did disable the fuel after we've been running it in his driveway we pulled all 8 glow plugs to do the test first couple tries blue the release valve on his compression gauge and then change to new needle and did the test again and that's when we came up with the seven 75 and 800 PSI I will try it again with a starter button and leaving the key off probably won't happen until this weekend and I will let you know on an update from their thank you much

Default 6.6 turbo Diesel

By the way what should an average compression be for that motor it has 240000 something miles on it and is been driven like a grandmother owned it