Thread: LB7 boost pressure test noise

Default LB7 boost pressure test noise

Hello, first post here on the forums. I am new to the diesel world and recently got my ‘02 LB7. Quick story, I went to step on it on the freeway the other day and it just felt like the truck wasn’t what it should be. Not a huge power loss but just didn’t feel like full power was there.

After researching online I decided to do the boost pressure test. After i hooked up the plug w/ fitting I began the pressure the line. Here’s where it gets weird, if i had the ball valve half open I can hear it loading the air and then air leaking out at the EGR valve. Now if i open the ball valve all the way it makes this very weird noise. I am no mechanic by any means so I came here to seek some help on this noise.

As for the EGR, do I take it off and clean it or once it leaks it is bad? Thank you for the help! Below is the video of the noise I am referring to .

https://youtu.be/Q0jGENOkNMw
    ‘02 LB7 CC. 4” MBRP straight piped

Arrow

Welcome aboard!

The 02-04 CA LB7 EGR's can normally be cleaned a few times before needing replacement. Much depends on how long they run dirty (longer means greater erosion). They can be fairly dirty before they trip any codes or cause running issues, so a check/clean should be part of normal maintenance if using any fueling-type or pressure-fooler power adders (timing only doesn't seem to accelerate fouling).