Thread: Rusted fuel line, metal to rubber?

Default Rusted fuel line, metal to rubber?

So I am new to the 6.5 Diesel and need some help. I have a 95 k2500 4x4 and got a DTC code 35. I figured it was PMD as its never been relocated. I ordered the kit to move it behind the bumper as well as a fuel lift pump. I went to go replace it tonight only to find the line is seeping diesel due to severe rust (Ohio salt). My question is can I use rubber fuel line to replace all the rusted metal line? It looks to be 3/8 and 5/16 or 1/4.
    I tested the pump and it is bad or the OPS is bad, either way I am replacing both of them. My plan is to go to napa and buy the ends that will fit the fuel pump and then clamp rubber fuel line on and run it to the fuel filter and tank.
    Anyone done this? Any tips? pros cons?

As always this newbie greatly appreciates any and all help. I did a search and maybe I didn't use the correct word combination but didn't find anything pertinent.

You are on the right track with the rubber fuel line and clamps,although do yourself a favor and get some fittings for the LP and fuel sending unit.

papco part number 905-352 =3/8*4 inches 16mm nut
    papco part number 905-350 =5/16*4 inches 14mm nut.

I also found some dorman part #'s for the similar style fittings for those in the US:
    Dorman:
    part #800-170 3/8" straight

part #800-231 5/16" -90 degree

Also google "OPS relay mod" and install for long term reliability-AC Delco ONLY for OPS replacement.
    2005 Chev K3500 CCLB

There is already a rubber line between the LP and the fuel bowl. It connects the steel line to the lift bowl. Mine actually got a kink in it over time, so I replaced it with two pieces and a 90* fitting.
    Jeffrey Todd
    _ _ _ _ ___ _ _ _ _
    '96 6.5TD GMC Suburban 2500 4x4 - 300,000 miles, JK remote FSD, Dual Thermostats

I am in the middle of replacing my rusted tank and rusted rear fuel and brake lines on my 1999 suburban 4x4